Current Elected Officials

Federal Officials: President and Congress

President Joseph R. Biden (D)
Contact the President by email
Call or write the President
The White House website

Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Sen. Kaine’s website home page

Senator Mark Warner (D-VA)
Sen. Warner’s website home page

Congressman Bob Good (R-VA, 5th District)
Rep. Good’s website home page

Congressman H. Morgan Griffith (R-VA, 9th District)
Rep. Griffith’s website home page

State Officials: Governor, Senate and House of Delegates

Your address determines your districts for electing people to Congress, Virginia State Senate and Virginia House of Delegates. Use the links below to find out who represents you, if you do not know. The following list of names includes officials who represent the people living near Smith Mountain Lake. It is based on current maps, and this list will be updated following the 2022 election.

Virginia General Assembly: Who’s My Legislator?
State Government
Local Government
Redistricting Information

Governor Glenn Youngkin (R)
Office of the Governor website

Senator Stephen D. Newman (R)
District 23: Campbell County (part), Botetourt County (all), Craig County (all), Bedford County (part), Roanoke County (part), Lynchburg City (part)

Senator David R. Sutterlein (R)
District 19: Floyd County (all), Salem City (all), Bedford County (part), Carroll County (part), Franklin County (part), Montgomery County (part), Roanoke County (part), Wythe County (part)

Senator Frank M. Ruff (R)
District 15: Brunswick County (part), Charlotte County (all), Mecklenburg County (all), Lunenburg County (all), Nottoway County (all), Campbell County (part), Dinwiddie County (part), Halifax County (part), Pittsylvania County (part), Prince George County (part), Danville City (part)

Delegate Wren Williams (R)
9th District: Counties of Franklin (part), Henry (part), and Patrick

Delegate Terry Austin (R)
19th District: Counties of Alleghany, Bedford (part), and Botetourt (part); City of Covington

Delegate Kathy Byron (R)
22nd District: Counties of Bedford (part), Campbell (part), and Franklin (part); City of Lynchburg (part)

Delegate Leslie R. Adams (R)
16th District: Counties of Henry (part) and Pittsylvania (part); City of Martinsville

Elected Officials by County

Bedford County

Bedford County, Virginia
Bedford County Registrar’s Office

Bedford County Supervisors
District 1*: Mickey Johnson (R)
District 2*: Edgar Tuck (R)
District 3: Charla Bansley (R)
District 4: John Sharp (R)
District 5: Tommy Scott (R), Chair
District 6: Bob Davis (R)
District 7: Tammy Parker (R), Vice-Chair
Bedford County Administrator: Robert Hiss

*Districts 1 and 2 represent lake area residents.

Bedford County School Board
District 1*: Dr. Susan Mele
District 2*: Matthew Holbrook
District 3: Dwayne Nelms
District 4: Marcus Hill
District 5: Georgia Hairston
District 6: Susan Kirby
District 7: Vacant
Superintendent: Dr. Marc Bergin

*Districts 1 and 2 represent lake area residents. School Board members do not run as party candidates; therefore no designation is provided.

Franklin County

Franklin County, Virginia
Franklin County Registrar’s Office

Franklin County Board of Supervisors
Blue Ridge District: Tim Tatum, Vice-Chair (R)
Blackwater District: Ronald Mitchell (R)
Boone District*: Ronnie Thompson (R), Chair
Gills Creek District*: Lorie Smith (R)
Rocky Mount District: Mike Carter (R)
Snow Creek District: Leland Mitchell (R)
Union Hall District*: Tommie Cundiff (R)

*Gills Creek, Union Hall and Boone Districts represent lake area residents.

Franklin County School Board
Blue Ridge District: Julie Nix, Chair
Blackwater District: Arlet Greer
Boone District*: Dawn McCray
Gills Creek District*: Jon Atchue
Rocky Mount District: Jeff Worley, Vice-Chair
Snow Creek District: Carletta Whiting
Union Hall District*: P.D. Hambrick
Member-at-Large*: Kevin David
Superintendent: Dr. Bernice Cobbs

*Gills Creek, Union Hall and Boone Districts, and the Member-at-Large represent lake area residents. School Board members do not run as party candidates; therefore no designation is provided.

Pittsylvania County

Pittsylvania County, Virginia
Pittsylvania County Registrar

Pittsylvania County Board of Supervisors
Tunstall District: William V. “Vic” Ingram, Chair (R)
Banister District: Jessie Barksdale (D)
Chatham-Blairs: Robert “Bob” Warren (R)
Westover: Ronald Scearce (R)
Staunton River District: Tim W. Dudley (R)
Callands-Gretna*: Darrell Dalton (R)
Dan River District: Tim Chesher (R)
County Administration: 434-432-7710

*Callands-Gretna District represents lake area residents.

Pittsylvania County School Board
Callands-Gretna*: Calvin D. Doss, Chair
Banister District: Raymond C. Ramsey, Vice-Chair
Chatham-Blairs: J. Samuel Burton
Tunstall District: George V. Henderson
Dan River District: Kelly H. Merricks
Westover District: Kevin W. Mills
Staunton River District: Don C. Moon
Division Superintendent: Dr. Mark R. Jones

*Callands-Gretna District represents lake area residents. School Board members do not run as party candidates; therefore no designation is provided.

Let’s Go Blue Together
Contact Us

Office at Halesford Center
16483 Moneta Road, Suite J
Moneta, VA 24121

Open 11 am – 3 pm


Mailing Address
P.O. Box 897
Hardy, VA 24101

SML Democrats includes members from communities around Smith Mountain Lake: Bedford, Glade Hill, Goodview, Hardy, Huddleston, Moneta, Penhook, Redwood, Union Hall, Westlake and Wirtz.